Project 2 Response

Thursday, February 18th, 2016

Link to PDF

For this project, my group and I created a guide to the job search and interview process.  In the guide, we detailed how and when to start preparing for interviews, what resources to consider, extracurricular activities to put on a resume, networking, contract negotiations, and general advice on the process.  I feel that one of the most important parts of this guide is the interview preparation.  Students can find a lot of resources on how to nail a technical interview.  While I certainly am not the best at technical interviews, I learned a lot by studying questions and thinking of complex answers on my own.  I also used GlassDoor a lot to research companies I was interviewing for and look at previous interview questions they have asked.  We also noted that you should not put a skill, project, or past experience on your resume if you are not prepared to talk about it.  Often my resume was scrutinized by many different interviewers on every skill I listed (they always wanted to know about LabVIEW, MatLab, and Scheme/lisp).

If there was anything I wish I had known earlier, it would be to start the process as early as possible and keep following up.  Most of the time I would get caught up in schoolwork and band (especially in the fall) so much that I would fall behind in my job search process.  I missed out on many opportunities this way.  The best advice I’ve received is to keep following up on everything.  It doesn’t hurt to send an email, and your tenacity to track somebody down through email comes off well on recruiters.  Even if you think a company may have filled positions, keep following up to get closure.  Otherwise, you may never know what could have been.

Job hunting certainly seems like it is a job on its own.  Researching, applying, and preparing for interviews can take up the majority of one’s time. This is especially relevant during junior year, when the hardest classes are being taken.  In addition, these are classes that are for sure to be relevant to technical interviews.  I think the bulk of tough courses should be taken earlier in college.  At Notre Dame we take Data Structures fall semester junior year, which is way too late.  It should be learned sophomore year, when most people are beginning to apply for smaller internships.  That way by the next year they can get a bigger internship.  I know a lot of my peers have said that they had to teach themselves data structures to prepare for technical interviews. I also think that there should be a fundamentals of computing course offered freshman year for CSE students.  While this doesn’t fit in with the first year engineering program, it offers a way for students interested in computer science to test the waters and get ahead.  I also think that there should be a focus on interview questions in a course, probably spring semester sophomore year, to keep the mind sharp going into the fall semester and career finding season.

The job market has changed dramatically over the last 15 years and employers want to focus on hiring only the best of the best.  We just need to focus on preparing for the interview process to prove that Notre Dame’s students truly are the best of the best.

Leave a comment